When you begin your search to discover the best Florida auto insurance rates, you should first consider simply how much coverage is enough for the lifestyle. Although the typical auto insurance premium in their state of Florida is $1,695 (2009), not absolutely all Florida residents can pay the same rates. Depending on several factors, you might pay more or less than the common Florida driver. Premiums vary greatly by age, gender, geographic location, and kind of vehicle, mileage, usage, driving record, employment, and even credit. Florida drivers may also wind up spending less on the basis of the forms of discounts each policyholder qualifies for.
To get going on purchasing Florida auto insurance, a good starting place could be the state’s Florida auto insurance minimum auto liability insurance requirements. It is important to note that Florida’s car insurance laws have undergone several changes since 2007. The information published here comes directly from the official Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). In accordance with FLHSMV, to be able to maintain a Florida license plate and registration, Florida’s minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).
Because Florida has the 3rd highest quantity of drivers on the way in the country (12,905,813) and approximately 23% of these drivers are uninsured, most auto insurance companies and state insurance departments recommend carrying higher amounts compared to minimum requirements. They also recommend carrying uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This could help protect you contrary to the nearly 3 million uninsured drivers and the an incredible number of underinsured drivers in the state of Florida. Overall, the minimum recommended amounts for car insurance in Florida are $100,000 for bodily injury and $300,000 per accident.
Once you’ve established an amount that is sufficient to guard you and your household against auto accidents, it’s time to start shopping and comparing. Contact around 3 auto insurance companies and request a quote. If you request quotes online you can save time. You is going to be asked a series of questions and the system will create a quote. When you have received around three quotes, contact your company of choice and inquire about discounts. Most insurance providers offer multiple discounts, sometimes as many as 9 or even more, and there is a good chance you might qualify for more than one. Maybe you are able to money in on discounts for being an excellent driver or an adult drivers. Other discounts can be found for car-pool drivers, multicar households, multipolicy discounts, antitheft devices, and seatbelts and airbags. Some auto insurance companies even offer discounts for non-smokers.
Note: The state of Florida has strict laws about whom you work with. If you are a Florida resident and your car is registered in the state of Florida, you must purchase an automobile insurance coverage via an insurance company that is licensed to offer car insurance in the state of Florida. If you buy an automobile insurance coverage from an unlicensed out-of-state insurance provider, the state of Florida will not honor the policy. Furthermore, new Florida residents are prohibited from maintaining an existing policy that has been issued within their previous state of residence.